2015-2016 Reading Series
River Styx at the Tavern
40th Anniversary Season

Readings start at 7:30 p.m.


313 Belt Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63112

$5 at the door
$4 Members, Students & Seniors
$3 Hungry Young Poets Series

Missed our previous seasons? Watch them here!

Note: After the June 20th reading, Hungry Young Poets will no longer be located at the Tavern of Fine Arts.

The July (July 18th) and August (August 15th) Hungry Young Poets readings will be held at Tree House Restaurant, located at 3177 S. Grand Blvd.

Going forward, the reading series, now called River Styx at the Contemporary Art Museum, will be held at the St. Louis Contemporary Art Museum, located at 3750 Washington Blvd.

June 20
  Sean Arnold
Baba Badji
Katryn Dierksen
Kelsey Kerr
Nicholas Kriefall
Josh Myers
Jake Russell
July 18
  Tara Lea Armstrong
Aleisa Bateman
Nick Bateman
Endya Goliday
Lizzy Petersen
Andy Smart
August 15
  Zachary Alley
Clayton Adam Clark
Anna Leigh Knowles
Timothy Leyrson
Jessica Lynn Suchon
Taylor Supplee

River Styx Reading Series Biographies

June 20th

Sean Arnold is a recent graduate of Webster University’s Creative Writing Program, where he was Poetry Editor of The Green Fuse. He worked with St. Louis’ JK Publishing to publish four chapbooks.

Baba Badji holds a BA in English and French from the College of Wooster and received his MFA from Columbia University. He is currently a Chancellor’s Fellow and a PhD candidate in Comparative Literature with the Track for International Writers at Washington University in St. Louis.

Katryn Dierksen is studying English at the University of Missouri–St. Louis. Her poetry has been featured in Apeiron Review, Bellerive, Brain Stew, and Bad Jacket.

Kelsey Kerr is a graduate student and lecturer at the University of Maryland, working toward her MFA in poetry. Her work can be found in Susquehanna Review, Fractal, and Slippery Elm, among others.

Nicholas Kriefall’s first collection, Attic Pieces, was published by Unsolicited Press in 2014.  His poetry has appeared in The Conium Review, Barrow Street, The Ampersand Review, and Poetry Quarterly, among others.

Josh Myers is an MFA student at Southern Illinois University, where he teaches creative writing and composition and works as an Assistant Editor for the Crab Orchard Review. His poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Ninth Letter, The Journal, Cutthroat, Vinyl Poetry, and Heron Tree.

Jake Russell is finishing an MFA in poetry at Wichita State University and has been published in BOAAT.

July 18th

Tara Lea Armstrong is an emerging poetry, fiction, and memoir writer, as well as a first-generation college graduate. She earned her BA in English from the University of Iowa, where she was a student of poets Dora Malech and Molly Gaudry.

Aleisa Bateman recently graduated with her BA in English and is considering pursuing a MFA next year. Her work has appeared in several journals, including Measure and The Lindenwood Review.

Nick Bateman currently lives with his wife in Jefferson City, Missouri, where he is the assistant manager of a record store. He earned his MFA at Lindenwood and has published work in Euphony. Poet, playwright, and fiction writer

Endya Goliday received her BA in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing from Webster University. Her work has appeared in A Story in 100 Words, Poetry Quarterly, and League for Innovation Winners Anthology of 2013, which featured her play Small Talk.

Lizzy Petersen is the Managing Editor at River Styx and teaches at Fontbonne University. Previously, she worked as the Poetry Co-Editor of Sycamore Review at Purdue University, where she received her MFA in Poetry. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Coldfront, FWJ Plus, RHINO, the Harriet blog, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and Zócalo Public Square.

Andy Smart is a fourth-generation South St. Louisan. His poems have appeared in Two Thirds North and Red Fez, and he will soon be a candidate for his MFA. 

August 15th

Zachary Alley, a United States Army veteran, is currently an MFA candidate at Lindenwood University. He received the 2015 Linda Ross Creative Writing Award for his poetry and worked as an editor for Arrow Rock and The Lindenwood Review.

Clayton Adam Clark lives in St. Louis, his hometown, where he works for Health Literacy Missouri. He volunteers as a contributing editor and board member for River Styx magazine. He earned an MFA in poetry at Ohio State University. His poems are forthcoming in Blue Earth Review, Southern Humanities Review, and elsewhere.

Anna Leigh Knowles is an MFA candidate at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale. Her work can be seen in Blue Earth Review, Puerto Del Sol, San Pedro River Review, Thrush Poetry Journal, and elsewhere. She is currently an associate editor for the journal Crab Orchard Review and a copy editor for the web anthology

Timothy Leyrson received his MA in English from Missouri State University in 2013, and earned his MFA from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 2015 as a Durwood fellow. He lives and writes in Kansas City with his wife and two cats.

Jessica Lynn Suchon is an MFA candidate at Southern Illinois University. Formerly a script consultant, fashion journalist and, associate stylist in Los Angeles, her work has been featured or is forthcoming in FemsplainFlaunt, Radar Poetry, and Rust + Moth.

Taylor Supplee is a graduate student at Missouri State University. His poetry has appeared in Rattle, Revolver, SLAB, and other magazines.

3139A South Grand Boulevard, Suite 203, St. Louis, MO 63118 |